LEAD Athens Program Application
LEADERSHIP   EDUCATION   AWARENESS   DEVELOPMENT
 

About the Program

LEAD Athens is a program of the Athens Area Chamber of Commerce designed to develop effective leaders committed to building a vibrant community. The intense year-long program explores a myriad of topics including economic development, local industry, health care, government, secondary and higher education, the arts and more. Participants learn about current issues and explore future challenges through monthly sessions and completion of a community project leading to a well-rounded and fun experience.
 
APPLICATION DEADLINE: Friday, April 24, 2020
 
ACCEPTANCE: Candidates are selected on their own merits from written applications received by LEAD Athens no later than April 24, 2020. Each class is limited in size, and those applicants not accepted are encouraged to re-apply the following year. Notices of acceptance will be emailed by Friday, May 15, 2020.
 
ATTENDANCE: Participants are required to attend the orientation, retreat, and all class activities and sessions. Any non-attendance may result in deferred graduation. Participants are also expected to serve as active team members for their group’s community project.
 
TUITION: Tuition for LEAD Athens is $1,500 and is due by Friday June 26, 2020. Tuition is non-refundable. A limited number of partial scholarships are available.
 
If a scholarship is extremely critical to your participation in LEAD Athens, please be sure to explain your need in the appropriate text box on the application form.

2020-2021 Schedule

Important Dates

Friday, Apr. 24, 2020:   DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS

Friday, May 15, 2020:   Acceptance Emails Sent

Wednesday, May 27, 2020:   Acceptance Forms Due to the Athens Chamber

Thursday, Jun. 18, 2020:   Orientation, 1-5 pm (Orientation Dinner, 5-7 pm)

Friday, Jun. 26, 2020:   Deadline for Tuition Payment in Full

Friday-Sunday, Jul. 17-19, 2020:   Retreat, North Georgia Mountains

Thursday-Friday, Jan. 21-22, 2021:   Tour of Georgia Port Authority, Savannah, GA

 

REGULAR SESSIONS (Tentative Schedule)

All sessions are 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, Aug. 13, 2020     Thursday, Sept. 10, 2020     Thursday, Oct. 8, 2020

Thursday, Nov. 12, 2020     Thursday, Dec. 10, 2020     Thursday, Feb. 11, 2021

Thursday, Mar. 11, 2021

 

A Night at the Academy Awards

Thursday, Apr. 15, 2021:   Graduation, 6-9 pm