For California Public Elementary, Middle, and High Schools
Deadline Feb. 12, 2021


The 2021 Civic Learning Award will shine light on the people and programs elevating a school's fundamental commitment to civics. This year, the Civics Learning Award seeks applicants/nominations for:

1) A SINGLE PROGRAM: One program that supports, promotes, and improves civic learning and advocacy opportunities for students. Programs paused during the pandemic, adapted for remote delivery, or created during quarantine all qualify.  

2) CHAMPION OF CIVICS: Every great cause needs a champion who goes the extra mile to promote active citizenship among their students. Business owners, school personnel, parents, and members of the general public have all taken on the charge to make sure students in California take part in their democracy. If you know one, nominate them for a Champion of Civics Award!


Application Posted

October 1, 2020

Application deadline

February 12, 2021

Selection of Recipients

April 1, 2021

Announcement and Recognition Event (Virtual)
*subject to change

April - May 2021

1. Follow the prompts below to submit your application and/or nomination. IMPORTANT: You may create an account to save and return to the application at a later date.
2. You may submit more than one program, but each program must have its own application. Only one program per school will be honored.

3. Your program will be scored as it aligns with the Six Proven Practices in Civic Education. (Review the rubric used for scoring.)  
4. All applicants will receive a confirmation email containing instructions for submitting acknowledgement from the school principal.

It is a long-standing tradition for award-winning schools to host civic showcase events. The details of these events for 2021 will unfold as the date draws closer. School visits may be conducted virtually.

Champion of Civics: This year, the Civic Learning Award will honor one or more individuals selected by Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye's Power of Democracy Steering Committee. The criteria is listed below.




The Civic Learning Awards are made possible with support from the California Lawyers Association.

Save & Return

Use an account to return to saved work.

Jump to Nominate a Champion of Civics? (Select and press "Next")
(Page 1 / 4)